Jesus be a Revolution

In the past two weeks I have been severely disappointed by white men in power. The first, a pretty prominent person in libraryland, took the opportunity to say All Lives Matter after the deaths of Philando Castile and Alton Sterling. Then refused to engage when called out on it. And what’s worse is that I’m still early career. For all my big mouth speaking at conferences and writing all the things I still need to be careful. There are many many years before I reach retirement age and I can’t be burning bridges without careful consideration of how it might affect me in later years. Which, as you can imagine, is just another level of violence. BUT at the very least we are not CURRENTLY working together so I can just let it cook.

The same cannot be said for the second man. He told me and my colleague in no uncertain terms that we are only worth being here because of our skin color. Period. No mention of our qualifications or experience. Nope. Just a token body to trot out and use to show how they’re taking “diversity and inclusion” seriously. So now just to toot my own horn, let’s see I’ve:

  • spoken on 5 panels
  • done a poster
  • published 3 things
  • got accepted into the Minnesota Institute

 

but nah. That doesn’t mean anything, right? And it has been a couple of days and I have to keep reminding myself that I am a kickass librarian. That I’m not just a black body. That I’m human and worth being heard. And I hate that this.

So I’ll just end with a tweet I saw today

JC be a Revolution

Leave a Reply

